Faculty Student Mentors

      

The following faculty members are interested in mentoring students in their research endeavors. Contact information and research interests are listed under faculty members' names.

Deborah Polk

dpolk@pitt.edu

  • Social factors, socioeconomic disparities in health behaviors, and indicators of health
  • Social and behavioral contexts in which genetic variants increase the probability of disease

Marnie Oakley

Moakley@pitt.edu

  • Prescription drug addiction
  • Social media use in dental education

Heiko Spallek

hspallek@pitt.edu

  • Evidence-Based Dentistry—Dissemination and Implementation in Dental Practice
  • Meaningful Use of Electronic Health Record Systems

Pouran Famili

pof@pitt.edu

  • The relationship of periodontal health to systemic health
  • Osteoporosis and how it is affected by periodontal disease, tooth loss, and implant placement

James Guggenheimer

guggen@pitt.edu

  • Characteristics of patients seeking care at the School of Dental Medicine (comprehensive and emergency)

Zsuzsa Horvath

Zshst2@pitt.edu

  • Educational research

Katherine Neiswanger

knacct@pitt.edu

  • Genetics of oral-facial diseases
  • Genetics of nonsyndromic clefting

Adriana Modesto

ams208@pitt.edu

  • Topics in pediatric dentistry

Jean O'Donnell

Jao4@pitt.edu

  • Dental Curriculum
  • Smoking Cessation

Charles Sfeir

csfeir@pitt.edu

  • Bone and dentin regeneration

Alexandre Vieira

Arv11@pitt.edu

  • Genetics of oral diseases and oral conditions
  • Translational Science and Healthcare

Elia Beniash

ebeniash@pitt.edu

  • Enamel regeneration

Alejandro Almarza

aja19@pitt.edu

  • Temporomandibular joint dysfunction

Juan Taboas

jmt106@pitt.edu

  • Bone regeneration

Christine Wankiiri-Hale

chwst11@pitt.edu

  • Racial disparities in oral health

Sayuri Yoshizawa

say15@pitt.edu

  • Salivary gland regeneration

Heather Szabo-Rogers

hsrogers@pitt.edu

  • Craniofacial development

Elizabeth Bilodeau

Elizabeth.bilodeau@dental.pitt.edu

  • Oral pathology and odontogenic tumors

Robert Weyant

rjw1@pitt.edu

  • Health Disparities Research (epidemiological and statistical)
  • Evidence-based Dentistry

Manika Govil

Govil@pitt.edu

  • Computational methods/Informatics
  • Statistical Genetic Methods development and application
  • Craniofacial, Oral, and Dental Traits

Kelly Bolden-Williams

Klb31@pitt.edu

  • Topics in periodontal diseases