Skip to main content

Office of Academic Affairs

The School of Dental Medicine Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) works closely with the curriculum committee for the predoctoral program to carry out the educational arm of the stated visionmission, and goals of the School of Dental Medicine. Dr. Jean O’Donnell, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, chairs the Curriculum Committee. The committee consists of representation from each department in the school, students in each of the four years of the program, and consultants from within the school and the University. The consultants represent faculty development, clinical affairs, instructional design and the Health Sciences Library.

The School of Dental Medicine Curriculum Development Administrator brings expertise in higher education to support both the OAA and the Curriculum Committee in their work.


The Curriculum Committee 

The Curriculum Committee for the pre-doctoral program reviews curricular changes proposed by the faculty and recommends curricular changes to the faculty and the dean. The committee monitors the implementation of the curriculum and coordinates all curricular activities and programs.

Committee Chair

Dr. Joanne Prasad, Chair Curriculum Committee, Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Ms. Melanie Reyes, Vice-Chair, Director of Predoctoral Education


Dr. Jean O'Donnell, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs


Dr. Abimbola Adewumi, Chair, Pediatric Dentistry (Dr. Adriana Modesto Gomes Da Silva, Faculty Designee)
Dr. Elia Beniash, Chair, Oral and Craniofacial Sciences
Dr. Helen Giannakopoulos, Chair, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (Dr. Mark Sosovicka, Faculty Designee)
Dr. Sarah Grafton, Chair, Restorative Dentistry/Comprehensive Care
Dr. Banu Karayazgan, Interim Chair, Prosthodontics 
Dr. Anitha Potluri, Chair, Diagnostic Sciences
Dr. Wellington Rody, Chair, Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics (Dr. Fayrouz Bazina, Faculty Designee)
Dr. Mark Saxen, Chair, Anesthesiology (Dr. Matthew Cooke, Faculty Designee)
Dr. Charles Sfeir, Chair, Periodontics and Preventive Dentistry
Dr. Renato Silva, Chair, Endodontics
Dr. Sean Simon, Director, Center for Continuing Dental Education
Dr. Lynne Taiclet, Director, Center for Patients with Special Needs
Dr. Christine Wankiiri-Hale (ex-officio), Associate Dean of Student Affairs
Dr. Robert Weyant, Chair, Dental Public Health; Interim Associate Dean, Faculty Affairs


Dr. Zsuzsa Horvath, Director, Office of Academic Career Advancement
Ms. Julia Nainiger, Administrative Assistant, Academic Affairs
Mr. Richard Oravetz, Director of Instructional Technology, School of Dental Medicine
Ms. Rachel Suppok, Health Sciences Library Liaison


The committee invites presidents of each current pre-doctoral class to serve as student representatives. 

The Student Progress Committee

The Student Promotion Committee regularly reviews the overall progress and grading of predoctoral students and makes recommendations regarding student promotion.  

Committee Chair

Dr. Kurt Summersgill, Chair, Faculty, Diagnostic Sciences


Dr. Jean O'Donnell, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Dr. Christine Wankiiri-Hale, Associate Dean, Student Affairs


Dr. Deborah Polk, Faculty, Dental Public Health
Dr. Filip Barbaric, Faculty, Restorative Dentistry and Comprehensive Care
Dr. Heidi Huber, Faculty, Prosthodontics
Dr. David Veronesi, Faculty, Restorative Dentistry and Comprehensive Care